About Us

The Hawaiʻi Executive Collaborative was born from the 50+ year old Hawaiʻi Executive Conference when CEOs and top decision makers made a commitment to get personally involved in collaborative efforts that would build resilience for Hawaiʻi's people. HEC serves as a backbone organization to accelerate the impact of their collective leadership.

The Hawaiʻi Executive Conference, now a key program of HEC, started in 1963 as forum for top leadership to exchange ideas. Many of the original participants were executives of the Big Five companies in Hawaiʻi. By the time the conference was transferred to aio Foundation with Duane Kurisu as chairman in 2018, it reimagined its participants as change agents and expanded its membership beyond business executives to include leaders in government, labor, education, and the nonprofit sector.

HEC leaders believe in the importance of collective action, common data, and shared impact. The work that we do, and the way that we work, stem from fundamental beliefs that shape our priorities.


We mobilize, support, and leverage the collective leadership of senior executives to accelerate the building of a more resilient Hawaiʻi.


In all that we do, we emphasize the guiding principles of:

Aloha au i Aloha
— I love Hawaiʻi

Auamo au i ke kuleana no ko
Hawaiʻi ke ala mua
— I am responsible for Hawaiʻi's future

ʻAʻohe hana nui ke alu ʻia
— No task is too big when done together by all


To honor and perpetuate Hawaiʻi’s Soul and serve as a model globally.


HEC comprises local CEOs, senior decision-makers, and global leaders who work together on systemic issues and drive lasting change. The reach of HEC’s leadership represents 36,000 employees across the state and over $220 million in philanthropic dollars invested in the community.


Duane Kurisu

Chairman, Hawaiʻi Executive Collaborative; Founder, aio Group

Micah Kāne

CEO and President, Hawaiʻi Community Foundation

John Dean

Chairman Emeritus, Central Pacific Financial Corp.

Ann Teranishi

President and CEO, American Savings Bank

Ray Vara

CEO, Hawaiʻi Pacific Health


Kamana‘opono Crabbe

Community Leader

Terrance George

President and CEO, Harold K.L. Castle Foundation

Robert Harrison

Chairman, President, and CEO, First Hawaiian Bank

Peter Ho

Chairman, President, and CEO, Bank of Hawaii

Corbett Kalama

Executive Vice President, The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation

Colbert Matsumoto

Chairman, Tradewind Capital Group, Inc. and Island Insurance Co., Ltd.

Elliot Mills

Vice President, Disneyland Resort Hotels and Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Catherine Ngo

Executive Vice Chair, Central Pacific Bank

Robert Nobriga

President, Island Holdings, Inc.

Richard Wacker

Community Leader

Jack Wong

President and CEO, Kamehameha Schools

Paul Yonamine

Chairman and CEO, Central Pacific Financial Corp. and Executive Chairman, Central Pacific Bank


Lynelle Marble

Executive Director


Judge Michael Broderick

Dispute Resolution Hawaiʻi; HEC Advisor

Glenn Miyataki

HEC Advisor

Leilani Farinas

Director, TRUE

Nicole Lim

Director, Movers and Shakas